Women Leaders in Peterborough Politics, Part 3 of 3. Newly re-elected MP Maryam Monsef.

Peterborough has a long history of being represented by Trent University alumni politicians. Currently, alumnus Dave Smith is the MPP for Peterborough-Kawartha. Alumnus Jeff Leal held that seat for the previous four terms (and sat on Peterborough City Council before that). There are also several alumni represented on area councils. Never before, though, have women taken on so many major political roles here. Right now, alumna Diane Therrien is Mayor of Peterborough, alumna Emily Whetung MacInnes is Chief of Curve Lake First Nation, and alumna Maryam Monsef is about to start her second term as MP for Peterborough-Kawartha – she was formerly Canada’s Minister of International Development and Minister for Women and Gender Equality. All three of these women are in their 30s – relatively young for politics – and all three are breaking new ground.

TRENT Magazine was honoured to bring this trio together to talk about the state of local and Canadian politics today – in particular, about gender inclusivity and empowerment.

Share | Download